BENS Eisenhower Award

BENS to honor Ash Carter and Robert Belfer with the 2016 Eisenhower Award. Click here to register for the award dinner in their honor.

On April 28th, BENS will present its 2016 Eisenhower Award to two extraordinary Americans in Secretary of Defense Ashton B. Carter and longtime philanthropist and executive, Robert Belfer. Carter and Belfer are embodiments of selfless leadership and pillars of Eisenhower’s definition of security as, “…the total product of our economic, intellectual, moral and military strength.” Carter, who was sworn in as Secretary of Defense in February 2015, will be honored for his long career in public service which began in 1993 when he served as the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Global Strategic Affairs. He further served as the Under Secretary for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics and Deputy Secretary before his appointment as Secretary. Belfer, who endowed the esteemed Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government, has been a champion for international peace and stability for decades. From nuclear proliferation in the post-Cold War era to cyber threats today, his visionary contributions have equipped generations of national security leaders from both the public and private sector to confront our greatest threats.

Over 500 industry and security leaders from all over the nation are expected to attend the celebratory Washington, D.C. dinner in their honor. For more on this event and to RSVP, click here.



The BENS Eisenhower Award was first presented in 1986 on the 25th Anniversary of President Eisenhower’s Farewell Address. Both public servants and private citizens have been selected by members of the BENS Board of Directors to receive the Award. Past recipients have included President Jimmy Carter; Secretaries of State Hillary Rodham Clinton and Condoleezza Rice; Secretaries of Defense Robert Gates, William Perry, and William Cohen; Senators Richard Lugar, Sam Nunn, Carl Levin, John McCain and John Warner; Generals James Jones, John Abizaid, Chuck Boyd and Michael Hayden, as well as business leaders Thomas Watson, Jr., Tom Peters, Norm Augustine, Denis Bovin, Mary and David Boies, Fred Smith, Robert Rubin, Joe Regent, Josh Weston, and John Whitehead, among others. Below are pictures from last year's dinner in New York honoring U.S. Department of Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson and First Data Vice Chairman Joseph Plumeri.

Slideshow image

Connect With Us:

BENS National Office
1030 15th Street NW
Suite 200 East
Washington, D.C. 20005
Phone: (202) 296-2125 | Fax: (202) 296-2490

© 2016 Business Executives for National Security | Privacy Policy | Donor Privacy Policy